Reading List 2013/14

A new academic year and I’ve decided to plan my reading for my personal development and such like. I currently reading George R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series but in between that I thought I’d squeeze in some other bits of reading. Here’s what I’m planning to read each month.

September

Off the Network by Ulises Ali Mejias

Social Media and online careers are increasingly something I’m interested in so I thought I’d read something a bit more critical than the average on the social media explosion. Mejias aims to critique how online networks shape how we think, act and live and what can be worrying about this as well as offering some alternative ways of living in the structures that we are increasingly part of.

October

Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman

I was given this for my birthday this year by my sister in law and it looks worth a read. It seems quite similar to Nudge by Thaler and Sunstein which I enjoyed. May have some interesting popular level ideas around decision making.

November

The Seven Basic Plots: Why We Tell Stories by Christopher Booker

A bit of a tome which intimidates me but looks very interesting about narratives. Can see lots of group works coming out of this. Fits alongside Inkson’s metaphors which I’ve done quite a lot of writing on.

December

Contemporary Theories of Learning: Learning Theorists… in Their Own Words by Knud Illeris (Editor)

One of my big desires for the year is to do some reading and thinking around education. I think careers work is becoming less therapeutic and more educational. This looks broad and interesting so I thought I’d give it a go.

January

Out of Our Minds: Learning to Be Creative by Ken Robinson

Books around understanding ourselves, the world around us, educational and creativity brings together a real cluster of interests for me. Interesting to think about developing creativity and how institutions can aid or hamper it.

February

Career Counselling: Constructivist Approaches by Mary McMahon (Editor)

I’ve started this before but not finished it. Good to get some more serious career theory under my belt. Especially interested to reflect on how constructivism relates to learning and who the ideas can support my one-to-one work.

March

Making Is Connecting by David Gauntlett

I really, really enjoyed Guantlett’s “Creative Explorations” so have had this on my to read list for a while. Community, social media, creativity and knitting, what’s not to like? Really looking forward to getting stuck in. Interesting to see how these ideas relate to “Off The Network”.

April

Give and Take: A Revolutionary Approach to Success by Adam M. Grant

I’m interested in things which take a bit more of a different slant to success that the traditional capitalist paradigms education can push so this caught my eye. Hoping to be challenged on how I talk about networking with students.

May

Understanding Media: The Extensions Of Man by Marshall McLuhan

“The medium is the message”, expecting this to be helpful for thinking through social media and online education. Think isolating media creates an interesting perspective on education.

June

What Are Universities For? by Stefan Collini

I’ve wanted to read this for a while. Working in HE I feel what the purpose of education is one of the big issues the sector is working through so I feel doing some thinking on what HE is for is more than worthwhile.

July

E-Learning and Social Networking Handbook: Resources for Higher Education by Robin Mason, Frank Rennie

As I said before doing some thinking on teaching is one of my big projects for this year. More than this I find E-Learning a growing part of my work and I think that will continue. Careers work seems to be slightly lagging behind the cutting edge in this area so I’m keen to do some thinking to stay ahead.

August

Paying for the Party: How College Maintains Inequality by Elizabeth A. Armstrong, Laura Hamilton

I wanted to bridge out and look at something slightly different. This looks like a really interesting narrative and I hope it will be good for my social conscience spending a bit of time thinking through class and subcultures in education.

…and just one more

In Praise of Love by Alain Badiou, Nicolas Truong

I wanted to throw a bonus book into the mix in case I get ahead of myself. This looks interesting as its a bit of philosophy which is never bad and it interests the Romanticism inside me. Interested to see if it throws up anything around love as a way of understanding career and especially drivers in career development.

So that’s my reading. I hope to blog a quick write up on each. Anyone else got anything interesting they’re planning on reading. Anyone want to read alongside me?

2 thoughts on “Reading List 2013/14

Leave a Reply

